Abcam Ad

Author Topic: MF20 Staining of Paraffin Sections  (Read 9682 times)

Offline jdurland

• Trainee
MF20 Staining of Paraffin Sections
« on: August 13, 2005, 02:04:14 PM »
Hi,
  I'm very new to immunohistochemistry, and I've been trying to get my first protocol to work.  It involves staining paraffin sections of 4-5 dpc chicks and 8-9 dpc mice with mouse-anti-rabbit MF20, a goat-anti-mouse IgG-HRP secondary, and the DAB reaction for color.  I have been unsuccesful in getting any specific staining to work for the past month and a half, I've only produced significant amounts of background, and in some cases, there has been no staining at all.  I've tried different primary and secondary solutions as well as fluorescent secondaries instead of IgG-HRP, all to no avail.  I'm kind of at my wits end, everyone is telling me there's no reason it shouldn't work, but I can't figure it out.  If anyone could give me any advice I'd really really appreciate it.  The protocol I've been using is below:  

For embryos fixed in 4%PFA, stored in MeOH, and sectioned by standard paraffin procedure. From sections-

1)  Hemo-D X 2 (2-3 min.)

2) 100% MeOH X 2 (2-3 min.)

3) Wash slides in 1X PBS X 2 (2-3 min.)

4) Neutralize endogenous peroxidase with 0.23% H2O2 solution in water (15 min.)

5) Block with 300-500ls of 1X PBS 0.2% Triton (in the Q-Z cabinet) 2-5 % normal goat serum or NGS (in the left side of fridge): Blocking Solution. Use large Petri dishes and put down damp paper towels beneath slides, which should be elevated on wooden swab sticks so slides dont touch the water. (30 min.)
   *Note that serum in block depends on host species of 2o antibody

6) Primary antibody MF20: 300-500ls on slides
Titrate concentration in block solution or 1X PBS and NGS (goat serum, in fridge). Use Petri dishes as above or the gray slotted contraption. (3 Hrs. or Overnight)

7) Wash in blocking solution, 300-500ls on slides. Use Petri dishes as above or the gray slotted contraption. (30 min.)