Abcam Ad

Author Topic: secondary Ab background problems  (Read 3598 times)

Offline adamo

secondary Ab background problems
« on: February 15, 2007, 12:12:03 PM »
I am using the Elite Vectastain mouse IgG kit to do IHC on cryosectioned (12um) mouse embryos.  I have no background problems with embryos ages E8.5 to E11.5 but when the embryos are older (E15.5 and E17.5) the secondary antibody binds to EVERYTHING and I loose specificity.  I tried titrating in NaCl as per the Vector troubleshooting guide (this worked great for me in the younger embryos) and even titrating down my secondary but with no success.  I tried detergents in the antibody diluents with the younger embryos but that did not work so I assumed it would not work with the older embryos as well.  Has naybody experienced the same thing?  Can somebody offer any suggestions as to how I can bring down the background from the secondary antibody and still preserve my primary antibody specificity?

secondary Ab background problems
« on: February 15, 2007, 12:12:03 PM »

Offline ImmunoNYC

• Global Moderator
  • GoldMember
Re: secondary Ab background problems
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2007, 12:13:04 AM »
Isn't the Elite Vectastain Mouse IgG kit for staining mouse monoclonal antibodies on other tissue besides mouse? I suspect your secondary is cross reacting with endogenous IgG in your tissue? What is the species of your primary? I think you are using the wrong kit perhaps?

My suggestion is to scrap the Vector kits and build your own protocol. It's easy and I can help if you give me more info on your antibody (host it's made in is a good place to start). Otherwise if you are staining with a mouse Ab on mouse embryos you need to switch to a Mouse-On-Mouse kit (MOM or ARK kits) for example.

Offline adamo

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2007, 10:19:40 AM »
NYC