Author Topic: Standard Curve question  (Read 16682 times)

Offline ahiscox

• HighTech
Standard Curve question
« on: November 29, 2007, 10:40:33 AM »
I've been doing ELISAs for several years as a grad student, and I've always used a linear best fit line for my standard curve.  I'm currently trying to troubleshoot an ELISA that someone else has done, and noticed that he was using a 4-parameter standard curve.  When I do a linear line on all of his data, I get r-squared values that are a bit lower than his 4-parameter best fit lines.

Is a 4-parameter best fit line OK to use?  I've always been told to use a linear line, but when I use a linear line on his raw data, I get slightly smaller r-squared values (.9978 vs. .9789 for example).

Thanks.

Standard Curve question
« on: November 29, 2007, 10:40:33 AM »

Offline ASluo

• GoldMember
Re: Standard Curve question
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2008, 02:10:46 AM »
HI there,

You can certainly use a 4-parameter best fit. But I think it depends on what the company you order the product from suggests. I order my ELISA kits from R & D Systems (Duoset) and was recommended to use a 4-parameter fit. I think is important to follow the company's instructions to get the best results! Good Luck!

Offline researcher4life

« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2010, 04:01:46 PM »
For future reference, check out this step-by-step guide for generating a standard curve in Excel.

http://www.mdbioproducts.com/resources/protocols/standard-curve

Offline aliu

« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2011, 01:58:18 PM »