Abcam Ad

Author Topic: ICC cytospins of nasal epithelial cells  (Read 6447 times)

Offline Eugene

ICC cytospins of nasal epithelial cells
« on: March 11, 2009, 07:01:19 PM »
Hello
Sorry Im a newbie to ICC etc.  My protocol involves cytospinning asthma patient nasal epis onto slides and I want to fluro Ab label them (easier to see vs. HRP etc?) for an intracellular protein (XIAP aka BIRC4).  I would like to know if the protocol Im going to use is valid and I have a few quns along the way.  Thanks for anyone that can help :)

Procedure...
1. obtaining nasal airway epis form patients (brushings up the nose that you vortex off in PBS)
2. cytospinning 100 uL of 50 000 onto a slide at 1500 rpm for 20 mins --> air dry for 30min (when I do this with cell lines I get fibres on the slie - should I wash the funnel first or something?)
3. I was going to acetone fix from here simply becasue this will also permeabilise the cells for XIAP localisation : -20*C acetone immersed for 5-10 mins (how long is too long? what of methanol or 1:1 both? what of others such as g.acetic acid, methanol, ethanol... is there a selection criteria?)
4. rinse 3x in PBS - can they be batched at this stage in the fridge etc?)
5. block with 2-5% sera (is this FCS or what the 2* Ab is suspended in?)
6. incubate with R&D Systems pAb to XIAP at 1:50 for 1 h at RT with gentle rocking in PBS (is PBS ok? incubate at a lower temp?)
7. incubate with FITC-labelled (I heard green is good) 2* Ab for 1 h at RT in PBS
8. wash 3x in PBS
9 sghould I fix the cells again now in 3.7 % Formaldehyde? I want to counter stain with DAPI of K167 for nuclear localisation too - will formaldehyde prevent this?  If so can I keep these in the dark at 4*C and come back to them later and counter stain then?

What am I forgetting?

Thanks to anyone who can respond.
Eugene

ICC cytospins of nasal epithelial cells
« on: March 11, 2009, 07:01:19 PM »

Offline CanuckPhD

• Global Moderator
  • GoldMember