Author Topic: Help interpreting caspase and Ki67 stain  (Read 5357 times)

Offline ic2133

Help interpreting caspase and Ki67 stain
« on: November 08, 2012, 11:34:21 AM »
Hello,

We had hair follicles sent out to a third party for H&E, caspase, and Ki67 staining. I have no experience with these stains and need some help interpreting the results. I have copied and pasted the protocol used for each stain below.

My questions are:

-If the Caspase and Ki67 slides were counterstained by dipping only in hemotoxylin (blue), why are there red dots on the slides?
-Is brown color on the caspase and ki67 slides the signal for those proteins? I ask this because the H&E sildes also have brown color. I'm wondering if it's just the color of the hair follicle itself or if the H&E stain results in that color? I don't have the protocol for the H&E stain the guy used since I guess it's a common one.
-I'm also confused with the naming of the control slides. How can I interpret those? The (-)(-) control seems to have no brown at all but it's also possible that he sectioned way past the follicle itself.

I would ask the guy himself but I was told not to ask him questions about interpretation...

Any feedback would be great. Thank you in advance!
-Irene

Procedure for Ki-67 IHC

5 micron tissue sections deparaffinized and hydrated to water.
   Antigen retrieval for 1hour @ 90 degrees C in Trilogy solution (Cell Marque #92p-10,)
   Slides rinsed for 10 minutes in TRIS buffered saline and Tween (Thermo Scientific # TA-999-TT)
   Protein block 10 min ( BIOCARE MEDICAL #BS966M,)
   Rinse in Tris buffer 5 min
   Primary ab incubation (Ki-67) 1 hour @room temperature
   Rinse in Tris buffer 5min
   Alk Phos Probe 20 min (BIOCARE MEDICAL #UP536L)
   Alk Phos Polymer 30 min (BIOCARE MEDICAL # MRAP536L).
   Chromogen Red 15 min (BIOCARE MEDICAL # FR805CHC)
   Rinse in water and counterstain with 2 dips in Hematoxylin.
   Dehydrate in graded alcohols and clear in xylene and coverslip.