Abcam Ad

Author Topic: Help with freezing artifacts from fixed adult rat brain!  (Read 3562 times)

Offline LAngie

• Express not impress
Help with freezing artifacts from fixed adult rat brain!
« on: February 10, 2015, 01:16:31 PM »
Hi, All
First, thanks for reading my thread. I am new to both IHCworld and histology.

My crystal violet staining showed all my rat brain sections (14micron, throughout a brain) have many holes or freezing artifacts.

Here is how I treated the brain. I perfused the rat with saline and 4%PFA, extracted the brain and left in 4%PFA overnight. Afterwards, the brain was transferred into 10%, 20% and 30% sucrose. I confirmed the brain sank in each solution. I left the brain in 30% sucrose for about a month before I freeze it. When I freeze down the brain, I cutoff the cerebellum and embedded the brain in the tissue-tek mold with OCT. Then I emerge the entire mold into dry-ice/acetone chilled isopentane. Sometime I saw bubbles but a lot of time i didn't. I waited for a minute or so before I took out the brain, I wrapped it in foil and left on dry ice. After I freeze down all the brains, I transferred all samples into -80C. One night before sectioning, I transferred the brain into -20. I sectioned at -18 Celsius degree.

I should clarify that I used 20 weeks old SD rat brain and my section is 14 micron thick, this is what I have to do for the project.

The artifacts I saw are all over the sections, and it looks like mad cow disease if that is an appropriate description.

My problem is that I freezd down all my 80 rat brains and they might all have crazy artifacts. So no turning back.