Abcam Ad

Author Topic: HELP. unsure of result of experiment  (Read 2238 times)

Offline yatimms

HELP. unsure of result of experiment
« on: April 23, 2015, 05:07:37 AM »
Hi,

I have been doing IHC for a while now and my background is really high. I am not sure what's the cause of the high background. The steps below is my protocol:

•   0.01M Sodium citrate: tri-sodium citrate dihydrate. 2.94g adjust to pH6 top up to 1L mili-Q water and add 0.05% (0.5mL) tween 20
•   0.06% H2O2: 1:50 dilution with water/TBS
•   Normal blocking serum: 50uL of normal horse serum in 5mL of PBS
•   Biotinylated secondary antibody: 100uL of normal serum stock : 100uL antibody stock: 5mL buffer
•   ABC reagent: 1 reagent A: 1 reagent B : 5 PBS buffer.  *Preincubate ABC reagent 30min prior to use!
•   DAB: 30uL of chromogen to 1mL of diluents. mix well. Can be reused within 14days kept in 4deg. Deactivate it with chlorox in sealed container overnight. Discard properly. (carcinogen)

day 2
1.   Let slides air-dry overnight after cutting and fixing onto slide
2.   Bake slides at 54deg to remove excess water for 1hour
3.   Rehydrate:
•   Histoclear 10min 2x
•   100% EtOH 5min 2x
•   95% EtOH 5min
•   80% EtOH 5min
•   70% EtOH 5min
•   Rinse well with water. (do not let slides dry at any point after this step)
4.   Antigen retrieval to unmask antigen after fixing: Put slides into orange container, with sodium citrate to the brim. Add distilled water to bottom of pressure cooker to the level marked.  Press “on” <|> and loosen the knob on top of the cooker. It will auto off by 12-15min. switch off main plug. let the slides cool down for few mins rtp
5.   Wash with PBS 3x5mins *gentle agitation for all washing steps
6.   To remove endogenous peroxide: incubate 20min in 0.6% H2O2 (make fresh) *this step can be done before or after primary Ab incubation.  (discard properly)
7.   Wash with 0.2% Tween 20 in TBS 3x5mins
8.   Block 30mins with normal serum (vector) and 2% BSA